Sixth Form Committee

Chairperson:  Lois Dexter


Vice Chairperson:  Owain Evans 


Treasurer:  Imogen Murphy 



Maisie Black

Chloe Bowler
Max Britland

Emilia Brooks

Evie de la Torre

Maria Drobot
Finley Himpson

Anya Hollowood

Eleanor Hooper

Jemma Jeffery

Antonia Jenkinson          
Archie Richards
Megan Robb

Rachel Simpson

Talia Stillwood

Mitch Young

Backwell Sixth Form Committee consists of tutor group representatives.  Meetings take place on a weekly basis in SF4.

The main roles of the Sixth Form Committee are to represent the views of sixth form students, look after the common room and to provide social functions for the Sixth Form.  We organise regular social functions, themed non-uniform days and, the highlight of the Sixth Form's social calendar, the Leavers’ Ball.

We donate money to various charities, including paying for the education and welfare of students from Uganda.  We also try to help our own students if they need sponsoring for activities such as Project Trust and we play a large part in supporting the annual Sixth Form Production.

We also liaise with teachers on behalf of students when this seems appropriate, and invite a member of the Sixth Form Team to our meetings when necessary.

Elections for the new Year 12 representatives take place in November.  They hold their positions for 16 months, "going it alone" from Easter of Year 12 and organising the Leavers’ Ball.  Until they are elected, students are welcome to attend any meetings and approach the existing committee members if they have any questions or problems, or would simply like to know how the Sixth Form Committee runs.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

© Backwell School 2019

Part of the Lighthouse School Partnership

A National Teaching School